Bild: Dylan Ferreira/Unsplash

Having sex during the Corona Pandemic ?!

Just because the world has changed, it does not mean that ones sexual needs have changed.

The recommendation is however clear:

Sex dates should now be avoided; because you can be infected anywhere where people congregate together, and therefore also when having sex: this means that when several people come together in a confined space, for instance at a private sex party, the infection risk is huge.

Can I still have sex ?

Basically yes; with people in the same household or with your permanent partner. The requirement is, that you do not have any Corona symptoms and that you do not meet up with others for sex. Also that you follow the recommendations and guidelines of the Swiss Government regarding partners outside of your relationship.

Can I still have HIV- and STI-Tests ?

The best thing to do is to contact your testing location directly or log in to aids.ch and see when routine testing will become available again.

What do I do if I have been at risk from HIV ?

Thanks to the PrEP emergency treatment, an HIV infection can be avoided. Act quickly because after 48 hours it will be too late. In order to assess the risk situation; get in touch with one of our specialist centres by phone (Attention:: our opening times have changed) or make direct contact with the Accident & Emergency Department of your nearest hospital.

What should I do if I’m displaying the symptoms of a sexually transmitted disease ?

If symptoms such as discharge, a burning sensation, itching, pain, inflammation, or red patches occur you should be tested as quickly as possible (for gonorrhea, syphilis, etc.) Contact your doctor or one of our centres by telephone.

I am taking the PrEP but am currently not having sex. Should I put the PrEP on hold ?

During a period of sexual abstinence, it can make sense to put the PrEP on hold. If you want to stop taking the PrEP, take one tablet a day for a further seven (7) days after you last had sex so as not to run the risk of an HIV infection before stopping the PrEP treatment. Important: If you do have sex again; start taking it in the habitual way. Further information under myprep.ch.

Does the PrEP act as protection from the Corona virus ? And what is the situation with other HIV medication ?

No: there are rumours going around, that the PrEP also serves as a protection against the Corona virus. This is absolutely false !

Can an infection with the Corona virus have an effect on my HIV test ?

To date no Corona virus infection has put into question the reliability of the HIV test. It is not to be expected that the antibodies against the Corona virus can interfere with the HIV tests.

HIV positive: No reason to worry!

As an HIV positive person; is there a greater risk factor?

If you are HIV positive, are undergoing treatment with a well functioning retroviral therapy and you have a good immunity level (more than 200 CD4/mm3), then you do not belong to the group of people who are particularly at risk. Though for you the same protective measures do still apply. Protect yourself and others: the rules.

When am I considered to be one of the at risk people ?

Those who have a CD4 Level below 200 (with or without an HIV therapy) have a higher risk of becoming ill and being infected with the new Corona virus.

You belong to the particularly at risk group, if you:

  • are over 65 years old
  • have a high blood pressure or diabetes,
  • suffer from chronic cardiovascular disease(s),
  • have chronic respiratory disease(s),
  • are undergoing medical treatment for cancer
  • have a weakened immune system due to various illnesses and/or therapies.

Especially people who belong to the group listed above are at a higher risk of developing illnesses related to the new Corona virus. If you belong to this at risk group and if you have questions; contact your doctor.

Is there a shortage of HIV medication ?

No. It is not necessary to stock up on medication. Medical suppliers are not reporting any shortage of medication. Specialists are monitoring the situation very carefully and are fully aware of the importance of being able to supply you further with medication. For those who are afraid of going personally to the chemist; it is possible to have the medication delivered via a Swiss mail order chemist.

For information on coronavirus (Sars-CoV-2 / COVID-19):
Federal Office of Public Health FOPH

Sex haben in Zeiten der Corona- Pandemie?!

Nur, weil sich die Welt verändert, heisst das nicht, dass die sexuellen Bedürfnisse ganz anders sind.

Die Empfehlung ist allerdings klar:

Sexdates sollte man jetzt unterlassen. Denn mit dem Coronavirus können Sie sich überall anstecken, wo Menschen eng zusammenkommen, also auch beim Sex. Und wenn mehrere Menschen auf engem Raum zusammenkommen, bei einer privaten Sexparty zum Beispiel, ist das Infektionsrisiko sehr gross.

Kann ich überhaupt noch Sex haben?

Grundsätzlich ja; mit Menschen im gleichen Haushalt oder mit Ihrem festen Partner, Ihrer Partnerin.
Voraussetzung ist, dass man sich ausserhalb der Beziehung an die Empfehlungen des Bundes hält, keiner Corona-Symptome hat und sich niemand mit anderen zum Sex trifft.

Kann ich noch HIV- und STI-Tests machen?

Am besten informieren Sie sich dann direkt bei Ihrer Teststelle oder auf aids.ch, ob Routinetests wieder möglich sind.

Was mache ich, wenn ich ein HIV-Risiko hatte?

Dank der PEP-Notfallbehandlung kann eine HIV-Infektion verhindert werden. Reagieren Sie rasch, denn nach 48 Stunden ist es zu spät. Für die Abklärung der Risiko-Situation kontaktieren Sie eine unserer Fachstellen (Achtung: geänderte Öffnungszeiten) telefonisch oder wenden Sie sich direkt an die Notfall-Station des nächsten Spitals.

Was mache ich, wenn ich Symptome einer Geschlechtskrankheit habe?

Treten Symptome wie Ausfluss, Brennen, Jucken, Schmerzen, Entzündungen, rote Stellen auf, sollten Sie sich rasch testen lassen (Tripper, Syphilis usw.). Kontaktieren Sie Ihren Arzt oder Ärztin oder eine unserer Fachstellen telefonisch, um einen Termin zu machen.

Ich nehme die PrEP, habe jetzt aber keinen Sex. Soll ich die PrEP pausieren?

Während einer Sex-Pause kann es Sinn machen, mit der PrEP zu pausieren. Wenn Sie die PrEP beenden wollen, nehmen Sie nach dem letzten Sex weitere sieben Tage eine Tablette und gehen Sie kein HIV-Risiko ein, bevor Sie die PrEP absetzen.
Wichtig: Wenn Sie wieder Sex haben, beginnen Sie wieder korrekt mit der Einnahme, Infos dazu auf myprep.ch.

Schützt die PrEP vor dem Coronavirus? Wie ist es mit anderen HIV-Medikamenten?

Nein! Es sind Gerüchte im Umlauf, dass die PrEP auch vor dem Coronavirus schütze. Das ist falsch.

Kann eine Infektion mit dem Corona-Virus eine Auswirkung auf meinen HIV-Test haben?

Bislang hat noch keine Infektion mit dem Coronavirus die Zuverlässigkeit des HIV-Tests in Frage gestellt. Es ist nicht zu erwarten, dass die Antikörper gegen das Coronavirus den HIV-Test stören würden.

HIV-positiv: Kein Grund zur Sorge!

Gehöre ich als HIV-positiver Mensch zu den besonders gefährdeten Personen?

Wenn Sie HIV-positiv sind, unter einer gut funktionierenden antiretroviralen Therapie stehen und eine gute Immunlage (mehr als 200 CD4/mm3) haben, gehören Sie nicht zu den besonders gefährdeten Personen. Für Sie gelten die gleichen Schutzmassnahmen wie für alle anderen (So schützen wir uns ).

Wann gehöre ich zu den besonders gefährdeten Personen?

Wer einen CD4-Wert unter 200 hat (mit oder ohne HIV-Therapie), hat ein erhöhtes Risiko, schwer zu erkranken bei einer Infektion mit dem neuen Coronavirus.

Zu den besonders gefährdeten Personen gehören Sie, wenn Sie

  • über 65 Jahre alt sind,
  • Bluthochdruck oder Diabetes haben,
  • an chronischen Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen leiden,
  • chronische Atemwegserkrankungen haben,
  • aufgrund von Krebs eine medizinische Behandlung erhalten
  • oder ein durch Erkrankungen oder Therapien geschwächtes Immunsystem haben.

Besonders gefährdete Personen gemäss dieser Aufzählung haben ein erhöhtes Risiko für schwere Krankheitsverläufe bei einer Infektion mit dem neuen Coronavirus. Falls Sie zu diesem Personenkreis gehören, wenden Sie sich bei Fragen an Ihren behandelnden Arzt.

Gibt es Engpässe bei HIV-Medikamenten?

Nein. Es ist nicht nötig, einen Notvorrat an Medikamenten zu beschaffen. Die Lieferanten melden keinen Engpass von HIV-Medikamenten. Die Fachpersonen verfolgen die Situation sehr genau und sind sich der Wichtigkeit bewusst, Sie weiter mit Medikamenten versorgen zu können. Wer Angst hat, seine Medikamente in der Apotheke zu holen, kann diese auch gegen Rezept in einer Schweizer Versandapotheke beziehen.

Weiter Informationen über das Coronavirus: Bundesamt für Gesundheit